Fount of Grace

Chaplet - Seven Sorrows


Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows is to meditate on Mary, "the woman of sorrows" whom God created as the mother of Jesus, and who as such, participates in his Passion. The chaplet is prayed using a special rosary comprised of seven groups of seven beads.  Each section is dedicated to one of the great seven sorrows the Blessed Mother experienced during her life.  Each group of seven is dedicated to one of the sorrows. 

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34–35)
  2. The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem (Luke 2:43–45)
  4. The Meeting of Mary and Jesus on his Way to Calvary (traditional)
  5. Standing at the Foot of the Cross (John 19:25)
  6. Jesus Being Taken Down from the Cross (Matthew 27:57–59)
  7. The Burial of Jesus (John 19:40–42)

The Seven Sorrows or “Servite Rosary,” came to fruition during the Middle Ages but regained popularity following the Church-approved Marian apparitions in Kibeho, Rwanda in the 1980s. In her apparitions, Our Lady of Kibeho recommended that people pray the Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows every Tuesday and Friday.

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
Charlene Pavlat
Seven Sorrows Prayer Chaplet

The Seven Sorrows Chaplet is a wonderful moving prayer to Our Lady. I have added it to my prayer ritual on every Tuesday and Friday.

You may also like

Your recently viewed items